Skip to main content

Search on the website

Nurse department

Nursing department Our rol The mission of the Institut Bordet Department of Nursing is to provide comprehensive care for patients affected by cancer and to deliver high-quality, adapted and personalised nursing care as part of a multidisciplinary team. The Department also seeks to promote the skills, motivation and empowerment of its nursing staff and carers.Nursing care is delivered according...

Molecular Immunology Laboratory

Molecular Immunology Laboratory (MIU) Overview The Molecular Immunology Laboratory strives to improve our understanding of the immune response in cancer and how it can be manipulated to the benefit of the patients. It investigates lymphocyte activities in several clinical conditions:  First, by studying the organization and cellular state of CD4+ T cells and germinal center B cells infiltratin...

Experimental Haematology Laboratory

Experimental Haematology Laboratory (HEMEXP) Description The Experimental Haematology Laboratory is dedicated to fundamental and applied research in the field of haematology and immunology. It operates in symbiosis with the Institut Bordet Haematology Clinic. One of the Laboratory’s strengths lies in the very tight interaction between researchers, the Haematology cell therapy unit (UTCH) and t...

Laboratory of Oncology and Experimental Surgery (LOCE)

Laboratory of Oncology and Experimental Surgery (LOCE) Description The Laboratory of Oncology and Experimental Surgery (LOCE) is a laboratory at the Institut Bordet recognised by the ULB Faculty of Medicine. It specialises in research into malignant melanoma and pigment cells in general. It combines fundamental research with preclinical and translational research. The LOCE has a self-contained...

Tumour Bank

Tumour Bank Tumour bank How to easily participate in cancer research?  Our rol ...

Administrative Research Management Unit (UGAR)

Administrative Research Management Unit (UGAR) Our role The Institut Bordet Administrative Research Management Unit (UGAR) is a centralised unit for the management of research. It pr...

Clinical Trials Support Unit (CTSU)

Clinical trials support unit (CTSU) Our role The Clinical Trials Support Unit (CTSU) is an operational support unit for academic clinical research into all types of cancer. Certain scientific questions of interest to patients can only be understood by means of academic research. This academic research must comply with all quality standards and legal and regulatory requirements applicable to re...

Information Management Unit (UGI)

Information Management Unit (UGI) Our role The Information Management Unit (UGI) provides support to the clinical departments and management of the Institut Bordet.The UGI carries out 4 particular missions: An epidemiology mission – by developing, managing and operating the hospital Cancer Register and by incorporating into it data from multidisciplinary oncological consultations. In so doing ...

Ethics committee

The Ethics Committee     Our role The Institut Jules Bordet Ethics Committee is an independent body whose role includes: monitoring and advising on ethical aspects of hospital care practices; assisting in decision-making on ethical aspects of individual cases; giving its opinion on all protocols for experimentation on humans prior to implementation.The opinions of the Ethics ...

bordet new

A new building for the Institut Jules Bordet Exclusive images of the new Jules Bordet Institute! Watch the video and discover the major project for the new Jules Bordet Institute. Magnificent images of the construction work on the   80,000 m² dedicated exclusively to cancer are accompanied by explanations on how the project was conceived to combine excellence of patient care with optimal well-being for patients and care staff. ...

Clinical Trials Conduct Unit (CTCU)

Clinical Trials Conduct Unit (CTCU) Our rol The role of the Clinical Trials Conduct Unit (CTCU) is to conduct clinical studies in a professional manner, in compliance with European Directives, regulations and Good Clinical Practice – GCP). These clinical studies are carried out in collaboration with pharmaceutical firms and/or academic partners. The Institut Bordet also implements its own clin...

Clinical Cellular Therapy Research Laboratory (LTCC)

Clinical Cellular Therapy Research Laboratory (LTCC) Description The Institut Bordet Clinical Cellular Therapy Research Laboratory (LTCC) is dedicated to fundamental and translational research in the fields of haematology and immunology cellular therapy. The LTCC’s main objectives concern: study of the interaction between leukaemic cells and their microenvironment; establishment of new prognos...

history bordet

History of the Institut Jules Bordet, a pioneer in cancer research Since it was founded in 1939, the Institut Bordet has always remained loyal to its pioneering role in the fight against cancer. With this complex disease, the lives of patients and caregivers do more than simply cross paths, they become entwined. Here are some of the key dates in the history of the Institut Bordet – an institution that is proud of its past but which always looks resolutely towards the future. Creation of the Institut Jules BordetToday, the Institut Bordet remains Belgium’s only integrated, monospecialist cancer hospital. The European Organisation for Research and Treatment of Cancer (EORTC) is established by Professor TagnonToday, the EORTC includes around 300 institutions which work together to develop the best possible therapeutic str...

Research

Research Since its foundation, the Institut Jules Bordet has always strived to understand the cellular mechanisms involved in cancer and to improve cancer treatments. By collaborating closely with healthcare professionals and doctors from all fields of medicine, researchers at the Institut Bordet are able to offer patients the latest innovations derived from scientific research. «The projects carried out by researchers at the Institut Bordet are exceptional in their cross-disciplinary nature and inventiveness. Driving healthcare forward and exploring all possible research avenues – this is the approach we take at the Institut Bordet. »     Martine Piccart  Research Director How research helps to move cancer treatment forward At the Institut Jules Bordet, research is both clinical and translational. It is a highly organised activity mobilising and involving numerous health professionals, as well as patients. ...

Psycho-oncology

Psycho-oncology clinic Our role The objectives of the Psycho-Oncology Clinic of the Institut Jules Bordet are: the psychological and psychiatric management of the patients and/or those close to them, the development of clinical research projects, healthcare-provider/patient communication training and psycho-oncology training in general. The common objective of the psychiatrists, psychologists,...

Jules Bordet Institute

The Institut Jules Bordet A pioneering centre in Belgium’s fight against cancer “The Institut Jules Bordet is an integrated, multidisciplinary centre, unique in Belgium and which enjoys an international reputation. The hospital is devoted entirely to patients affected by cancer. For more than 75 years, our teams have been offering patients leading-edge diagnostic and therapeutic strategies in the prevention, screening and active treatment of all types of cancer. The Institut Bordet also carries out important research activities which every year lead to major discoveries, as well as providing high-level, specialised university training.” Our missions A new building for the Institut Jules Bordet   ...

Second opinion

Requesting a second opinion “Seeking a second opinion is a patient’s right.”    Dr Dominique de Valeriola, General Medical Director, Institut Jules Bordet Second opinion Every year, many patients request a second opinion from the multidisciplinary team of the Institut Jules Bordet. ...

after cancer

and after cancer ... “As well as follow-up care, our patients are offered many types of support, after treatment too.”  Dr Dominique de Valeriola, General Medical Director, Institut Jules Bordet Medical care after cancer After treatment, when medical examinations show no more sign of cancer, the patient is considered to be in remission. It is then that post-cancer care begins. ...

Cancer Prevention and Screening

Cancer prevention and screening In Europe, 1 man in 3 and 1 woman in 4 will develop cancer before the age of 75. You can reduce and control this risk. So put the odds in your favour!   Dr Jean-Benoît Burrion Head of Prevention & Screening Clinic Primary and secondary ...

Aller au contenu principal

Recherche sur le site

Urologie

Service d'urologie Notre rôle Le Service d’Urologie prend en charge tant le traitement médical que chirurgical des pathologies liées à l’appareil urinaire masculin et féminin et à l’appareil génital masculin.Ses activités couvrent essentiellement le diagnostic et le traitement ainsi que le suivi des affections cancéreuses ou non de la prostate, des reins, de la vessie et des organes de l’...

Département infirmier

Département infirmier Notre rôle Le Département Infirmier de l’Institut Jules Bordet a pour mission d’assurer une prise en charge globale des patients atteints d’un cancer et de leur prodiguer des soins infirmiers de qualité, adaptés et personnalisés, au sein d’une équipe pluridisciplinaire. Le Département veille aussi à promouvoir la compétence, la motivation et la responsabilisation du perso...

Laboratoire d'immunologie moléculaire

Laboratoire d'immunologie moléculaire (MIU) Aperçu général Le Laboratoire d'immunologie moléculaire s'efforce d'améliorer notre compréhension de la réponse immunitaire dans le cancer et de la manière dont cette réponse peut être manipulée dans l’intérêt des patients. Les chercheurs du laboratoire y explorent les activités des lymphocytes dans plusieurs circonstances cliniqu...

Laboratoire d'hématologie expérimentale

Laboratoire d'hématologie expérimentale (HEMEXP) Description Le Laboratoire d'Hématologie Expérimentale est dédié à la recherche fondamentale et appliquée dans les domaines de l'hématologie et de l'immunologie. Il fonctionne en symbiose avec le Service d'Hématologie clinique de l’Institut Jules Bordet. Un point fort du Laboratoire repose sur le continuum des interactio...

Laboratoire d'oncologie chirurgie expérimentale

Laboratoire d'oncologie et de chirurgie expérimentale Description Le Laboratoire d’Oncologie et de Chirurgie Expérimentale (LOCE) est un laboratoire de l’Institut Jules Bordet reconnu par la Faculté de Médecine de l’ULB. Il est spécialisé en recherches sur le mélanome malin et sur la cellule pigmentaire en général. Il associe la recherche fondamentale à la recherche préclinique et transla...

Tumorothèque

Tumorothèque La tumorothèque Comment participer simplement à la recherche contre le cancer ? Notre rôle ...

Clinical Trials Support Unit (CTSU)

Clinical Trials Support Unit (CTSU) Notre rôle La Clinical Trials Support Unit (CTSU) est une unité opérationnelle de support à la recherche clinique académique pour tous les types de cancer. Certaines questions scientifiques intéressantes pour les patients ne peuvent être adressées qu’au travers de la recherche académique. Cette recherche académique doit répondre à tous les standards de quali...

Unité de Gestion de l'Information (UGI)

Unité de Gestion de l'Information (UGI) Notre rôle L’Unité de Gestion de l’Information (UGI) a un rôle de support tant vis-à-vis des services cliniques   que de la direction de l’Institut Jules Bordet.L’UGI exerce en particulier 4 missions : Une mission d’épidémiologie en développant, gérant et exploitant le Registre du Cancer hospitalier et en y intégrant les données des concertations mu...

Comité d'éthique

Comité d'éthique     Notre rôle Le Comité d'Éthique de l’Institut Jules Bordet est une instance indépendante dont les missions consistent à   accompagner et conseiller sur les aspects éthiques de la pratique des soins hospitaliers, assister à la décision concernant des situations individuelles en matière d'éthique, donner son avis sur tout protocole d'expé...

bordet new

Un nouveau bâtiment pour l'Institut Jules Bordet Images exclusives du nouvel Institut Jules Bordet! Découvrez dans cette vidéo le grand projet du nouvel Institut Jules Bordet, centre de référence européen de lutte contre le cancer. De magnifiques images de la construction des 80 000 m² entièrement dédiés à la pathologie cancéreuse et des explications sur la manière dont ce projet a été pensé pour allier excellence dans la prise en charge du patient et optimalisation du bien-être de celui-ci et du personnel soignant. ...

Clinical Trials Conduct Unit (CTCU)

Clinical Trials Conduct Unit (CTCU) Notre rôle La Clinical Trials Conduct Unit (CTCU) a pour mission de conduire des études cliniques de manière professionnelle, dans le respect des directives européennes, des réglementations et des bonnes pratiques cliniques (« Good Clinical Practice », GCP). Ces études cliniques sont menées en collaboration avec des firmes pharmaceutiques et/ou des partenair...

Laboratoire de thérapie cellulaire clinique

Laboratoire de Thérapie Cellulaire Clinique (LTCC) Description Le Laboratoire de Recherche en Thérapie cellulaire clinique (LTCC) de l’Institut Jules Bordet est dédié à la recherche fondamentale et translationnelle dans les domaines de de la thérapie cellulaire liée à l’hématologie et à l’immunologie. Les objectifs majeurs du LTCC concernent : l’étude des interactions des cellules leucémiques ...

histoire bordet

Histoire de l'Institut Jules Bordet, pionnier dans la recherche contre le cancer   Depuis sa création en 1939, l'Institut Jules Bordet a toujours été fidèle à sa vocation pionnière dans le combat contre le cancer. Face à cette maladie complexe, les destins des patients et des soignants font plus que se croiser ;  ils se lient. Sans prétention d’exhaustivité, rappelons quelques dates clés de l’histoire de l’Institut Jules Bordet, fier de son passé et résolument tourné vers l’avenir. Création de l'Institut Jules BordetAujourd’hui, l’Institut Jules Bordet reste le seul hôpital oncologique monospécialisé intégré en Belgique. Création de l’Organisation  européenne pour la recherche et de traitement du cancer (EORTC) par le Pr Tagnon Aujourd’hui, l’EORTC réunit environ 300 institutions qui travaillent ensemble p...

Recherche

La recherche Depuis sa création, l’Institut Jules Bordet n’a cessé de chercher à comprendre les mécanismes cellulaires impliqués dans le cancer et à améliorer les méthodes diagnostiques et les traitements anticancéreux. En collaborant avec des chercheurs et des médecins de tous horizons, les chercheurs de l’Institut Jules Bordet transfèrentau chevet des patients les innovations issues de leurs recherches scientifiques. « Les projets menés par les chercheurs de l’Institut Jules Bordet se distinguent par leur transdisciplinarité et par leur inventivité. Faire progresser le soin et explorer toutes les pistes de recherche possibles : telle est la démarche  de l’Institut Jules Bordet. »     Martine Piccart  Directrice Scientifique Comment la recherche fait avancer le traitement des cancers A l’Institut Jules Bordet, la recherche est à la fois clinique et translationnelle. Cette activité très organisée mobilise et engage de nombreux professionnels de la santé ainsi que les patients. ...

Psycho-oncologie

Clinique de psycho-oncologie Notre rôle La Clinique de psycho-oncologie de l’Institut Jules Bordet a pour missions : la prise en charge psychologique et psychiatrique des patients et/ou de leurs proches, le développement de projets de recherche clinique, la formation à la communication soignants-soignés et à la psycho-oncologie en général. Les psychiatres, psychologues, psychothérapeutes, neur...

institut bordet

L'Institut Jules Bordet Centre pionnier de lutte contre le cancer en Belgique  « Centre multidisciplinaire intégré, unique en Belgique et reconnu internationalement, l’Institut Jules Bordet est un hôpital entièrement consacré aux patients atteints de maladies cancéreuses. Depuis plus de 75 ans, nos équipes proposent aux patients des stratégies diagnostiques et thérapeutiques à la pointe du progrès pour prévenir, dépister et lutter activement contre tous les types de cancers. L’Institut Jules Bordet mène aussi d’importantes activités de recherche menant chaque année à des découvertes majeures et dispense un enseignement universitaire spécialisé de haut niveau » Nos missions Un nouveau bâtiment pour l'Institut Jules Bordet   ...

second avis

Demander un second avis «Demander un second avis fait partie des droits du patient»   Dr Dominique de Valeriola, Directrice médicale générale de l’Institut Jules Bordet Demander un second avis Chaque année, de nombreux patients viennent demander un second avis médical aux équipes multidisciplinaires de l’Institut Jules Bordet.  ...