Skip to main content

Medical Physics

Medical physicists are involved with the application of medical physics principles and techniques for prevention, treatment and diagnosis of cancer and the protection of the patients, staff and members of the public from ionizing and non-ionizing radiation hazards (More information).

At Institut Jules Bordet, the organizational structure of the Medical Physics Department integrates 4 specialities: Radiotherapy, Radiology, Nuclear Medicine and Engineering. Overall, the Medical Physics Department is composed of 25 members, from which 15 physicists with an official recognition as medical physics expert (MPE via FANC accreditation). Every medical physicist is employed as a member of the Medical Physics Department and seconded to another department to perform specific and clearly defined tasks. This integrated organization facilitates inter-department clinical collaborations, allows multidisciplinary approaches and joined research project developments.

Research projects


Project 1


(Projet PhD de Thomas Guiot)

Project 2

Molecular Radionuclide Therapy (MRT) with 177Lutecium

(Projet PhD de Rachele Danieli)

Project 3

D-Caf MecaTech Project: Monte Carlo simulations to determine correction factors for new detectors developed by IBA (specifically for proton VMAT, Flash, and carbon ion treatments)

(Projet PhD de Guillaume Houyoux)

Project 4

Implementing new dose calculation methods with AI for real-time dose calculation for the MRI Linac.

(Projet Elekta de Kévin Brou Boni)

Project 5

Project Minora: The introduction of the Radiotherapy workflow using MRI only images

(Projet Siemens de Akos Gulyban)

Project 6

Optimisation of breast cancer radiotherapy through the use of multi-institutional big data and the application of advanced Artifical Intelligence techniques

(Projet PhD de Zineb Smine )

Project 7

Artificial Intelligence and multi-omics data to allow safe systemic treatment de-escalation in early breast cancer

(Projet PhD Yin Tuo)

Project 8

Assessing the Accuracy of Current 4DCT Imaging Protocols: A Multi-Institutional Study

(Projet PhD Yin Tuo)

Project 9

Modelling of the dose-response for nephrotoxicity in preclinical targeted radionuclide therapy with 161Tb and 177Lu radiolabeled peptides

(Projet PhD de Michelle Andersson)

Project 10

Patient-specific QA sensitivity and actually delivered dose

(Projet Sarah Poeta et Younes Jourani)


Project 11

Selective Internal Radiotherapy through Transarterial Radioembolization with Y90 or Ho166 Microsphere: Development of Personalized Dosimetry

(Projet PhD de Benoit Collette)

Project 12

Preclinical study of the radiobiological obstacles limiting the optimal clinical transition of the FLASH effect in radiotherapy

(Projets PhD Nina Blond, Coralie Destrebecq)

Project 13

Development of new theranostic vectors for personalised neutron capture therapies

(Projet PhD Eloise Rapport)

The team

- Reynaert Nick, MPE, Head of the Medical Physics department
- Simon Stéphane, MPE, Associate Head of the Medical Physics department, responsible for GammaKnife, IORT, brachytherapy and TBI
- Levillain Hugo, PhD, Head of Research and Development

- Jourani Younes, MPE, Head Medical Physicist in Radiotherapy
Burghelea Nicoleta Manuela, MPE, main focus on CTsim, DIR and functional imaging
- Carraro Federica
Gulyban Akos, MPE, main focus on MRI for RT
- Martins Ferreira Angela Sofia
- Nana Kenwa Gaelle
Paquier Zelda, MPE, PhD student in Medical Physics
Poeta Sara, MPE, main focus on DIR and dose accumulation
Rodriguez Garcia Diana, MPE, main focus on SGRT and QC-QA
Sonia Sobczak, MPE, main focus  on FilmDosimetry, BrachyTherapy and Commissioning
Vandekerkhove Christophe, MPE, main focus on QC-QA, Brachytherapy and IORT 

Nuclear Medicine
- Vanderlinden Bruno, MPE, Head Medical Physicist in Nuclear Medicine
- Marin Clémentine, MPE, main focus on image processing
- Collette Benoit
- Danieli Rachele
- Trotta Nicola

- Michiel Dehairs, MPE, main focus on CT and MRI
- Gomes Leitao de Azevedo Daniel Ricardo, MSc, main focus on CT

- Guiot Thomas, Ir.,MSc, Head of Engineering
- Abdelkrim Zakariae, technician, main focus on QA-QC
- El-Hamdi Abdelhafid, technician, main focus on QA-QC
- Kert Fabian, technician, responsible for 3D printing
- Ez-Zyouy Youssef
- Joly Anhony
- Laaroussi Rachid

- Brou-Boni Kévin
- Dhont Jennifer

- Planchon Muriel, Personal Assistant Prof. Nick Reynaert and team assistant.