Skip to main content

The Ethics Committee


The Institut Jules Bordet Ethics Committee is an independent body whose role includes:

  • monitoring and advising on ethical aspects of hospital care practices;
  • assisting in decision-making on ethical aspects of individual cases;
  • giving its opinion on all protocols for experimentation on humans prior to implementation.

The opinions of the Ethics Committee are confidential. They are given in a reasoned report, sent exclusively to the applicant and reflect the different viewpoints of the Committee members.

The Committee may reject an application, giving a reasoned decision for this rejection.


Dominique LossignolInternist, IJB

Dominique BronHaematologist, IJB

Academical Secretary
Marianne PaesmansStatistician, IJB

Harry Bleiberg, Oncologist and gastroenterologist, external
Lissandra Dal LagoOncologist, IJB
Thierry GilOncologist, IJB
Jean KlasterskyOncologist, IJB
Luigi Moretti, Radiotherapist, IJB
Laura Polastro, Medical Oncologist, IJB
Thierry Renard, General Practitioner, external

Coralie Deliens, Hospital Pharmacist, IJB

Patrick Crombez, Nurse, IJB
Brigitte Fernez, Nurse, IJB

Florence Lewis, Psychologist, IJB

Bénédicte Cuylits, Lawyer, IJB
Bénédicte De Brabant, Lawyer, IJB
Stephania Greco, Lawyer, IJB

Monique Colin, Speech Therapist, Patient Representative, external

Members deputies
Amélie Deleporte (deputy), Medical Oncologist, IJB
Lieveke Ameye (deputy), Statistician, IJB
Nadine De Loore (deputy), Patient Representative, external

Dominique LossignolMember with knowledge of human sciences or training in medical ethics

Marianne PaesmansMember with expertise in clinical research methodology

Coralie Deliens, Experts with expertise in pharmacology, pharmacotherapy and pharmacokinetics

Anne Spruyt
Dominique Roels